Mitch in NYC, 2020, pre-pandemic. Still by Jacqueline Castel.

“Down With the Blue Bloods”

Positive-mind metaphysics for working people

Mitch Horowitz
10 min readMay 18, 2020

--

The conventional rap on positive thinking is that it is for corporate finks (or those who aspire to be), fuels Trump-like reality distortions, and forms a therapeutic miasma that keeps working people in their place.

My view is different. My story is different. And I write it from lived experience.

_________

My philosophical hero is Neville Goddard (1905–1972). an English, Barbados-born mystic, who wrote under his first name. He heard the following words in the midst of a personal vision: “Down with the blue bloods!” To Neville, privilege did not belong to the rich but to the truly imaginative.

Because of Neville’s English background and elegant bearing, many people assumed he was born wealthy. He was not — far from it. Likewise, because of my New York background and surname, many people judged the same of me growing up. A school bus driver upon hearing that I lived in a suburban development with gaudily named streets like Royal Way and Regents Lane said, “Oh, a rich kid, huh?” A truculent writer with whom I worked once (just once) called me “college boy,” inferring the same thing.

Here’s the truth, of which I rarely speak: My father was a Legal Aid Society attorney in New York City who defended…

--

--

Mitch Horowitz

"Treats esoteric ideas & movements with an even-handed intellectual studiousness"-Washington Post | PEN Award-winning historian | Censored in China